The NWE area in 2014-2020

The Interreg NWE Programme involves Ireland, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, and parts of France, Germany and the Netherlands. It has an area of 845 000 km² and is home to 180 million people. Considered as one of the most dynamic and prosperous areas of Europe, it also faces a number of environmental, social and economic needs and challenges.

Key figures

180 million people


Estimated population

Total Area


KM Squared

Share this

Tweet Share